DSC_0549

Drifting Thoughts Tuesday (Delayed): Another Word in Need of Redemption

So this is obviously delayed but it happened on a Tuesday so I’m still counting it!

The other day I had a really amazing conversation with a brother-in-Christ. It began with an online conversation we were having during the summer over this article I posted about the Proverbs 31 woman. We finally met up yesterday to talk more in person about it. It was seriously a great conversation and one that I was seriously blessed by.

Obviously, I’m not going to go to in-depth about what we talked about but the word “submit” came up and it’s been in my head since our talk.

Now, whenever I hear the word “submit” I internally cringe, especially in a Christian context. As a Christian woman, the most overused verse directed towards me about submission is Ephesians 5:22, “Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord.” Getting past the fact that I am not married and don’t plan to be married until I can fully support myself by myself, the ever growing baby feminist in me cries for equality and not wanting to be viewed as inferior than anyone else, let alone my future husband. However, like I found with the word “abide”, you can’t just stop at the surface level of a word, especially not in the Bible. There must be deep digging not only into the definition but also our own hearts.

Granted, I will still probably cringe at the word “submit” when used with any other meaning other than turning in a paper that I pulled two consecutive all-nighters over. However, submitting to someone in the Bible is not about becoming a slave to someone but of loving someone, of realizing that instead of always pulling into yourself, we should also be giving out to others as well. I mean, Jesus showed many acts of submission during his time on earth. He didn’t allow us to rule over him. That was only something he allowed the Father to do. However, Jesus did humble himself in order to love us. His whole existence living as a man was an act of submission. His death and resurrection was an act of submission. He had been there from the very beginning with God (John 1:1) and yet he gave up chilling with God in Heaven to save us when we kept messing up and pushing God away. Honestly, I would have just pressed the “reset” button and been done with it.

True submission, without any other agenda, is love.

There’s so much to talk about in regards to redeeming the word “submit” and maybe I’ll do a longer post when I finally catch up on all my schoolwork but I’ll end this post with the overly used but not any less true 1 Corinthians 13:4-7,  Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant  or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;  it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.”

My fellow brothers and sisters in Christ, let us submit to on another and others in our lives in love.

Leave a Reply

