10418275_10204154411634465_1051816083935510093_n

Drifting Thoughts Tuesday: Love Song

“Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.” – 1 John 4:8

So the other night, in anticipation for a for King and Country concert I will be attending in a few weeks, I listened to their new album on Spotify, “Run wild. Live free. Love Strong”. Their song, “Without You feat. Courtney” (yep, just one name) really stood out to me. I was just sitting there, attempting to do some readings for class, half-listening to the music and the chorus plays:

So let’s dance a little
Laugh a little
And hope a little more
Yes let’s dance a little
Laugh a little
And hope a little more
Cause I don’t want to live without you
No, I don’t want to live without you
Without you…
I’m going to be honest. My half distracted mind wandered to a place where all hopeless romantics such as myself know so well. It was the typical faceless guy daydream where the nameless guy in question confessed his deep feelings for me after some overly dramatic event that pushes him to finally reveal his heart to me…Yeah, I’m rolling my eyes at myself too. Don’t worry. Join the party. But being serious, was that necessarily the wrong way for my mind to go?
I don’t think so. It is a love song after all. Though not to some faceless guy of my imagination. It’s a love song to God. Which once I made that realization hit me kind of hard. I mean, “Without You” is not the first Christian song that I’ve heard that I ran the risk of having my spaced out mind think about in a somewhat romantic light. Recently, there’s also been “You Won’t Relent” by Misty Edwards where part of the song where this awesome guitar and base ballad goes:
Come be the fire inside of me
Come be the flame upon my heart
Come be the fire inside of me (you wont relent until you have it all)
Until you and I are one (my heart is yours)
Come be the fire inside of me (you wont relent until you have it all)
Come be the flame upon my heart (my heart is yours)
Come be the fire inside of me (you wont relent until you have it all)
Until you and I are one (my heart is yours)
For me, this song gets me every time. I mean the passion behind the words and singing always makes me go, “I want that. I want that intense love so much. How can I get that?” But the thing is, I already have that. I’ve had that type of love that I desired for awhile now, with God. With my Lord and Savior. But more time than I can count, I reject it. Either out of fear of where God’s love will take me, the places that I have convinced myself that I’m either not ready/worthy for or, I’ve deluded myself into thinking that some earthly love is more fulfilling than the source of true love.
“There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love. We love because he first loved us.” 1 John 4:18-19
I think one thing I have to constantly remind myself as a young female college student is not to look for love in all the wrong places. That if I want a love story, I already have one, one that has been many, many, many years in the making…And though having an earthly significant other would be pretty cool, I have to pause and seriously ask myself how can I even think of loving someone else (and this even included non-romantic situations) when I can not love the greatest Love that I will ever have?
“I love you, O Lord, my strength.” – Psalm 18:1
Dear God, Thank you for such an amazing love story and the opportunity to sing love songs to you…

Leave a Reply

