Focus

Once upon a time, there were two girls. One was free-spirited and very relaxed and the other was very professional and serious. The two had decided to invite a well known and very popular teacher to be the guest speaker of an event that they were running together.

The day of the event, however, the serious girl became frustrated at the free-spirited girl since she had not helped with anything that needed to be done and instead, merely sat attentively listening and taking in everything the speaker was saying.

Does the beginning of this story remind you of any other stories? For me, the first story that comes to mind is Luke 10:38-42, the story of Martha and Mary. The second story, is my own.

Plenty of times, I find myself in the place of the serious girl or Martha and to a certain extent, nothing is wrong with that. And also, to a certain extent, there is nothing wrong with being a free-spirited girl or Mary either. Being one, both, or neither of these personas is not the point.

“In focusing on someone else’s success, you sacrifice your own. Keep your eyes on Jesus, not any other human to motivate you!” – Whole Magazine 

I really struggle to remember this and honestly, I was struggling with this only a few days ago when I saw the above quotation.

I started this blog because I wanted to show those who helped me go to a month long faith building conference what I had learned. This recent struggle made me realize that whether it’s a month, a year, 10 years, or whatever, what defines a learning a lesson isn’t being able to check it off a to do list and forget about it. Though I doubt anyone reading this blog thinks this, I never want to portray myself as having it all together because I don’t. Truly growing, truly finding success involves me constantly stopping and questioning my motivations and whether I’m doing something to “one up” someone or because I think in the end it will help me honor and focus on my faith. So yeah, I will fall, I will wander and stray but what’s most important to me is whether I let myself stay that way.

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

– Luke 10:41-42

In parting, I will end with these lyrics:

The things of earth are dimming
In the light of Your glory and grace
I’ll set my sights upon Heaven
I’m fixing my eyes on You…

“Fix My Eyes” by For King and Country

Leave a Reply

