The Saturday Reading List: Fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I’m scared of everything. And I’m crazy. Like maybe you think I’m a little crazy, but I only ever let people see the tip of my crazy iceberg. Underneath this veneer of slightly crazy and socially inept, I’m a complete disaster.”

-Cath, Fangirl

The Stats:

  • Fiction, Romance, College
  • 4/5
  • Warnings: If you don’t know what fanfiction is you should just probably stop and go look it up or else some of this might be confusing.

From the book cover:

“Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life–and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fanfiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere. Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to. 

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?”

Zo’s Review:

So I will be honest. I first picked up Fangirl because of this youtube portrayal of a scene from the book by Yulin Kuang. (<–SPOILER ALERT!!! Don’t click on this link if you don’t want any spoilers for this book.) But honestly? This book called out to me. It was a book about a girl who wrote fanfiction for a book. As someone who not only reads but also has a few fanfiction stories out there (and no, I won’t tell you my username if you don’t already know it), I thought I would be able to relate to it. And in a way, I did. Okay, I don’t have a twin sister and I sadly didn’t participate in a creative writing class during my time in college but it still resonated with me on a several different levels.

The main character, Cath, is not really adjusting to college as well as her twin sister, Wren is. She’s afraid of putting herself out there and when she’s not in class, she’s in her room writing fanfiction. My first quarter of college was disorientating and though I did force myself to go out and be social with the other freshmen and those in my dorm, there were a few nights where I did withdraw and what did I do? I wrote fanfiction, just like Cath did. At first I thought she was slightly annoying and to a certain extent, I still think so but not necessarily in a bad way. If Fangirl took place during all four years of college I bet Cath wouldn’t seem that annoying. In all honesty, the things that I thought were “annoying” were things that I had myself down as a freshman in college so it wasn’t necessarily annoying as in bad character design but in its reality. That’s not to say that the characters in themselves aren’t a little whacky, and a little extreme (sometimes kinda overbearing), but for the most part, the characters that I was supposed to like, I liked and the characters that I wasn’t, I didn’t. Plus, Levi, one of the characters, is just awesome and so likable, like his character was intended to be. Sometimes the dialogue was a bit awkward but I felt that’s what helped make the characters charming.

Also, even though it was an obvious portrayal of the Harry Potter series the Simon Snow book snippets that were placed between chapters throughout the book almost made me wish they the series actually existed.

I kind of wish that Rainbow Rowell would do a continuation of the story but honestly, the idea of being a girl writing fanfiction for a book about a girl writing fanfiction for a book is just too tempting!

Overall, if you like quirky, somewhat neurotic characters just trying to get through the awkwardness that is college life and growing up, check this book out.

What do you guys think? Have you read Fangirl already? Have any other book suggestions that I should add to my Saturday Reading List? Leave your thoughts behind in the comments. Just be respectful please. 

8 thoughts on “The Saturday Reading List: Fangirl

    • zozo93 says:

      I haven’t read “Eleanor & Park” but I have read her other book “Attachments”. It wasn’t a horrible book but I didn’t really connect well with the characters. It almost felt like they were trying too hard. I’ve heard mixed reviews about “Eleanor & Park” but I’ll give it a try at some point.

      Like

Leave a Reply

