The Saturday Reading List: Lumberjanes Vol 1-8

Lumberjanes # 1-8 Written by Noelle Stevenson and Grace Ellis and Illustrated by Brooke Allen

lumberjanes_cover

The Stats:

  • Publication Date: April 7, 2015, ongoing series
  • Fantasy, camp adventures, girls rock, power of friendship, crazy adventures, loosely based mythology
  • 3.5/5
  • Warnings: If you’re type of person who believes that a woman’s place is in the kitchen or that females are supposed to look and act a certain way, this book and this blog is not for you.

From Amazon:

“Five best friends spending the summer at Lumberjane scout camp…defeating yetis, three-eyed wolves, and giant falcons…what’s not to love?!

Friendship to the max! Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are five best pals determined to have an awesome summer together…and they’re not gonna let any insane quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way! Not only is it the second title launching in our new BOOM! Box imprint but LUMBERJANES is one of those punk rock, love-everything-about-it stories that appeals to fans of basically all excellent things. It’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Gravity Falls and features five butt-kicking, rad teenage girls wailing on monsters and solving a mystery with the whole world at stake. And with the talent of acclaimed cartoonist Noelle Stevenson, talented newcomer Grace Ellis writing, and Brooke Allen on art, this is going to be a spectacular series that you won’t want to miss.”

Zo’s Review:

“Friendship to the max!” What? That’s what all the cool kids say, and the Lumberjanes are definitely cool kids. Okay, I’m telling you right now that this review is only based on the Lumberjanes #1-8. The series is already has issues in the twenties, I think, but issues #1-8 make up the first story arc of the series and a good place to cut off. Also, I’ve read issues #9-11 so far and it kind of has a different feel that I’m not totally into (probably due to change in co-authors) but I’ll give it another chance when either the library has the newer issues or when student loans aren’t eating up most of my money, but let’s get back on track.

I really enjoyed issues #1-8. The Lumberjanes are some pretty special ladies. I feel that there is at least one Lumberjane that everyone can relate to. For me it’s Jen, the Lumberjanes’ scout leader who takes things way to seriously. But even characters like Jen, who you think will be total killjoys as the story progresses tend to be pretty kickbutt characters.

 

I especially love that this was a collaboration including Noelle Stevenson, the same brilliant person who brought us Nimona and the cover of Fangirl, (though I believe after issue #8 she stepped down). I just really love that the Lumberjanes come in all different shape and sizes and that you can’t necessarily base their personalities off of their appearances. My only problem with Lumberjanes #1-8 is that the plot moves so fast it is hard to really get to know each girl as individuals beyond their surface characteristics. I just personally wished we knew a bit more about who the girls are outside of the camp. I mean, I’ve read up to issue #11 of the comics and you get a little more insight to who the girls are but it’s not much.

pl_lj_inset2

Something else to be aware of is that the art style changes throughout the series. Issues #1-8 are slight changes that have more to do with the illustrator seeming to get used to the character designs. Beyond issue #8 the style changes constantly. It wasn’t that big of a problem for me, I actually thought it was cool but I know for some a constantly changing style can be annoying.

Overall, I liked the first eight issues of Lumberjanes as a beginning to the series (what I’ve read afterwards…eh, not so much. Kind of comes off as trying too hard). If you like quirky, mythical adventures, and friendship, you should definitely check it out!

What do you all think? Have you read Lumberjanes already? Have any other book suggestions that I should add to my Saturday Reading List? Leave your thoughts behind in the comments. Just be respectful please.

Leave a Reply

