The Saturday Reading List: The Zodiac Legacy #1

The Zodiac Legacy Issue #1 by Stan Lee and Stuart Moore

61iyaonmedl-_ac_ul320_sr234320_

The Stats:

  • Publication Date: August 2, 2016
  • Fiction, fantasy, superpowers, comic books, Marvel
  • 2.8/5
  • Warnings: Disney Press <<<< Marvel

From Amazon:

“When twelve magical superpowers are unleashed on the world, a Chinese-American teenager named Steven will be thrown into the middle of an epic global chase. He’ll have to master strange powers, outrun super-powered mercenaries, and unlock the mysterious powers of the Zodiac.”

Zo’s Review:

You know when you read something and want to like it but it just falls flat? That’s how I felt about The Zodiac Legacy #1. I mean, it’s Stan Lee.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Okay, first off. The whole process of reading and review this comic was confusing. It wasn’t until after I had read the comic and written up a review that I realized that The Zodiac Legacy series is an illustrated novel but that The Zodiac Legacy #1 is a kind of supplement comic for the novel seriesof which 2 out of the 3 novels are currently out. In saying all of this, a lot of my impressions in this review are looking at this as if The Zodiac Legacy #1 was the very beginning of the series. Though I admit that I was incorrect about that, it doesn’t change my impressions since I was asked to review The Zodiac Legacy #1, the comic, and not one of The Zodiac Legacy illustrated novels, therefore, read this review at your own risk.

You know when you read something and want to like it but it just falls flat? That’s how I felt about The Zodiac Legacy #1. I mean, it’s Stan Lee. However, I was really underwhelmed

I will admit, honestly, what came to mind first with this one was a really bad Jackie Chan Adventures/Captain Planet mashup. (Okay Jackie Chan because of the zodiac similarities but I don’t know why Captain Planet. Maybe it was a combination of taking kids from different countries, at some points thinking some of the powers were kind of lame, and a really corny way of inserting social justice in to make the story seem “hip” and modern.) Basically, what I’m trying to say is that The Zodiac Legacy #1 really didn’t stand out as much as I expected it would, especially if you ignore that Stan Lee’s name wasn’t on it.

(Well, now that this song is stuck in everyone’s head, let’s continue.)

And it wasn’t even necessarily the type of powers or even the characters – though they were kind of bland. What was really a downer was how it started off – and I’ll admit, this could just be a matter of personal preference. When I read a comic book about superheroes, especially if it’s the first issue, I like either 1 of 2 things: either start the comic at the very beginning so the reader gets to know the characters before and after they receive their powers or have the main character – in this case Steven – give a brief narrative to the reader that catches them up. Basically, I want to feel like I’m part of this crazy adventure along with the character, not some interloper. Technically, The Zodiac Legacy #1 did have a rand done by the main bad guy at the very beginning but it was so weak and not compelling to want to continue as a reader.

And then the characters…-sigh-. Okay, let’s start off with the positive: YAY PERSONS OF COLOR MAIN CHARACTERS IN COMICS!!!!! And now once the high of that has passed…ugh. These characters were so flat and full of insecurity/family issues. I mean, I know that’s basically the backstory for all comic book superheroes, especially of the Stan Lee variety but, come on! Would a little effort have hurt? Can you make me actually like the characters first for the personality before you half-heartedly throw their pity party at me? My biggest issue with The Zodiac Legacy #1 is that it couldn’t answer the question of why I should care about these characters. Again, maybe if I was given the entire volume to review instead of the first issue I would have been eased into the characters and their backstories more as I went through but as I said before, I just wasn’t impressed.

Though The Zodiac Legacy #1 wasn’t my favorite superhero story to review (sorry Stan), I would attempt to read the next issue or two before making a final decision on the series overall.

I received a copy of this book from the NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.

What do you all think? Have you read The Zodiac Legacy #1 already? Have any other book suggestions that I should add to my Saturday Reading List? Leave your thoughts behind in the comments. Just be respectful please.

 

Leave a Reply

