The Saturday Reading List: Supervillainess

Supervillainess by Lizzy Ford

30177713-_uy3508_ss3508_

The Stats:

  • Publication Date: June 1, 2016
  • Fiction, romance, superheroes, typical guy-falls-for-girl-he-probably-shouldn’t-fall-for-and-vise-versa-but-they-do-anyway
  • 2.8/5
  • Warnings: Lots of f-bomb droppings and psycho super-villain fathers trying to kill their children.

From Amazon:

“A “Deadpool” style, twisted superhero romance …

Sand City, a town in the Pacific Northwest, where the rents are too high and the rain never stops. On the surface, it appears normal – except this city is run by General Savage, an alleged supervillain.

Fleeing Chicago and the disastrous mistakes of his past, Doctor Kimber Wellington accepts a job at the only hospital willing to hire him. Grateful for a second chance, he ignores the city’s strange obsession with supervillains.

That is, until the daughter of General Savage nearly dies in his arms. Kimber couldn’t be any more different than Reader, the self-professed supervillainess-in-training, who insists she has superpowers that just so happen not to work around him. She’s deranged, violent, abrasive – and has never known kindness from anyone else.

Unfortunately, helping her places Kimber in the crosshairs of Reader’s arch-nemesis. Drawn to the part of her that’s good yet horrified by her dark, violent world, Kimber finds himself at a crossroads: stay in Sand City at the potential cost of his own life, or abandon the city, the people and the compelling supervillainess who need him.”

Zo’s Review:

You know, whoever said that Lizzy Ford’s Supervillainess was a “Deadpool style twisted superhero romance” was probably grasping for straws with that one.

giphy

Did I like Supervillainess? Eh, it wasn’t the worst book I’ve read this year and honestly, this was one of those books that I saw a lot of great potential in but unfortunately it just didn’t match with the expectations that it built up.

Okay, I’ll start with the technical stuff I had issues with. There were a lot of plot points and characters that could have either been expanded on or just overall taken out if Ford wasn’t going to use them again. Unfortunately, I can’t really point out parts specifically at risk of spoiling the book for others but there were definitely parts where I was like “Oh, this character just revealed something important/vulnerable. Either the person and/or what they revealed is going to be super important later on or the character is going to betray one of the main characters!” And then I continuing to read the book, waving at all the opportunities the author missed as they pass by.

youre-relationship-you-shoo-away-anyone-prowling-your-significant-other

Bye bye interesting plot twists that could have made the story great.

Seriously, it’s really disappointing when the author sets up something so perfectly and then doesn’t take advantage of their own story and characters.

I also wasn’t a big fan of the romance. Not necessarily a hero falling for a villain. I’m usually all for that. Most of my favorite fictional pairings are total opposites. Though I’m not a fan of the “they saw each other and they knew this person was different” motif, I do believe what makes a good romantic relationship in a story is not necessarily how they got together but what happens after they get together. I wasn’t really sure if I was rooting for Kimber and Reader. I mean, I didn’t hate them but I wasn’t really convinced they had anything other than lust for one another. Part of this might have to do with their characterization.

tumblr_inline_o8lcha9c321r9lepx_500

Throughout the story, we’re reminded the Kimber has his own ghost of his past haunting him, especially his addiction and Reader has her own problems being the daughter of a crazy supervillain. There was some character development, I guess, but I felt like the characters could have been fleshed out a bit more. Kimber felt like a washed out boy scout with superpowers and Reader felt like a Bond girl with superpowers. I wanted to see head on as a reader Kimber’s addiction problems as well as seeing a bit of Reader’s humanity that makes her a “good supervillainess”as she struggles to figure out how to best help this man that she maybe more than admires. I want to see some sort of nervous tick or tell that Kimber finds out about Reader that indicates that she’s not as strong as she tries to be and that the cruel and psychotic upbringing of her father and the betrayal of her brother (don’t even get me started on how irritated I am that the reader never really finds out what caused her brother to betray her among other things) is affecting her more than she lets on. I mean, there were so many opportunities to do that and just when I think that was going to happen, something else comes up or a time skip happens where those things may have happened but because the reader isn’t privy to it doesn’t really make a difference. I’ll be honest, I like a little drama/tragedy for a my characters. I want them to work for a “Happily Ever After” and I don’t think Kimber and Reader did, or at least, the readers didn’t see that.

Overall, Supervillainess by Lizzy Ford is an okay if you need to waste some time, however, for those of you who like plot twists or stories where the author really takes chances with their characters than this is not the story for you.

I received a copy of this book from the NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.

What do you all think? Have you read Supervillainess already? Have any other book suggestions that I should add to my Saturday Reading List? Leave your thoughts behind in the comments. Just be respectful please.

Leave a Reply

