The Saturday Reading List: No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished (Heartstrikers #3)

No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished by Rachel Aaron

516d9pz83kl

The Stats:

  • Publication Date: August 5, 2016
  • Previous Book: One Good Dragon Deserves Another (Heartstrikers #2)
  • Fiction, fantasy, science-fiction, drama, supernatural
  • 4/5
  • Warnings: No real warnings for this one other than the obvious you’d have to read the first two books.

From Amazon:

“When Julius overthrew his mother and took control of his clan, he thought he was doing right by everyone. But sharing power isn’t part of any proper dragon’s vocabulary, and with one seat still open on the new ruling Council, all of Heartstriker is ready to do whatever it takes to get their claws on it, including killing the Nice Dragon who got them into this mess in the first place. To keep his clan together and his skin intact, Julius is going to have to find a way to make his bloodthirsty siblings play fair. But there’s more going on in Heartstriker Mountain than politics. Every family has its secrets, but the skeletons in Bethesda’s closet are dragon sized, and with Algonquin’s war looming over them all, breaking his clan wide open might just be the only hope Julius has of saving it.”

Zo’s Review:

They say third time’s the charm and I truly believe that with Rachel Aaron‘s third book in the “Heartstrikers” series, No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished. Aaron really brought her A-game in her third book in my opinion and really exceeded my expectations.

giphy

If you read my review on the first two books I said that though I really liked the overall story, I wasn’t too sure about the two main characters, Julius “the Nice Dragon” and Marci the human mage he befriends. In the last two books, they weren’t my favorite characters and they didn’t feel as fleshed out as they could have. Though other characters like Bob, Ghost, Justin, and Chelsea still, in my opinion, took the spotlight, I did feel like Julius and Marci were much more active characters in No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished than the first two books.

I think the difference between this book and the last two books is that the plot has been building up for awhile now through the first two books that here, in the third book, we start to see some of the effects of previous actions. Since a lot of the explanations about the series’s world happened in the first two books, I felt Aaron had more opportunity to have a bit more action with subplots in the third book. The overarching plot is Julius getting a Council set up for his family that will allow equal opportunity for anyone in the family, not just the dragon’s who are physically the strongest, despite obstacles from his mother and siblings who don’t want things to change. Within that main plot you also have 1.) Julius trying to free his older sister, Chelsea, and his other siblings from her debt with their “wonderful” -that’s sarcasm – mother, 2.) Marci trying to become the first Merlin, and 3.) as always the mysterious plan that Julius’s seer brother, Bob, has put into motion. There’s just a lot of stuff going on in this book and the end of each chapter kept me swiping at my Kindle for the next chapter until I got to the last chapter. And when I got to the last chapter, I just had to pause to take everything in.

tumblr_inline_napkiguryx1rfehjx

I really couldn’t put this book down. I’m really happy that side characters like Chelsea got a bit more background and depth. Though not much was revealed upfront about Chelsea there were a lot of implications and clues throughout the story about the Heartstriker enforcer that I really loved and really made her relatable to not only the reader but to other characters as well. Also, Ghost is my favorite side character. The first two books I was indifferent towards him but, as with many of the characters, we really got to see more of his personality and character and I will not hesitate to say that I am a big fan of our spirit kitty and his growing relationship with Marci.

There’s a lot of positive things I could say about No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished – from the characters to the cool little clues/moments that I’m really looking forward to Aaron delving in deeper with – but I don’t want to give away anymore spoilers. Rachel Aaron, the beginning of next year cannot come quick enough with the cliffhanger you left us all on! I eagerly await to what the fate of our resident Nice Dragon and the other characters will be in the next installment of the series!

 

gif-4

Yo, Rachel! If you need someone to read an ARC of the next book, hit me up!

 

What do you guys think? Have you read the latest book in the Heartstrikers series, No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished, already? Have any other book suggestions that I should add to my Saturday Reading List? Leave your thoughts behind in the comments. Just be respectful please.

One thought on “The Saturday Reading List: No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished (Heartstrikers #3)

Leave a Reply

