What’s Up Zo? #9: The World Turned Upside Down

image-65

PERSONAL UPDATE

Hello followers!

It’s been awhile since I did a weakly update so there’s much to catch up on. Here’s a snapshot of what’s been happening:

  • Started grad school: gif-pretending-to-study-in-front-of-ur-parents-likeDespite being behind on readings, it’s been really great so far and I really like my cohort and teachers. Nervous about seeing clients soon but I’ve been working on things with my supervisor and other classmates so I think I’m as ready as I’ll ever be in this situation.
  • Got behind on my Saturday Reading List…again: giphy2Sorry to everyone who comes here for my book reviews. I appreciate every one of you and I’m just trying to adjust to the new work load I have now. I’m hoping to get ahead in some of my reading again so I’ll at least be a few weeks ahead even if I’m behind on the actual reading.
  • Saw Hamilton: (Did you catch the reference in the title?) 39c21f3f-774d-4023-8a71-aa0147efb00aSo I saw the Broadway in Chicago version of it. I had been listening to the original broadway cast version of the musical for so long that when I saw the Chicago cast I was a little thrown by some of their artistic decisions in terms of emphasis on certain lyrical parts but after a few minutes, it was easy to get over it and enjoy the show. There’s obviously a lot of hype around the show. Though I don’t think anyone should ever pay over $100 per ticket unless the man, Lin Manuel Miranda, himself if taking up the role again (and even then, your girl here would still try to find the cheapest tickets), if you can afford the tickets without breaking bank, I think it’s worth it. (Or just listen to the original cast soundtrack, that honestly tells the entire story since there’s not that many transition scenes throughout the musical.
  • Read a lot of Fred Weasley and Hermione Granger fanfiction: Don’t judge me. I just had a lot of feels after Cursed Child and was a bit stressed out about all the things I had to do for grad school so some how I found myself down the Fremione rabbit hole. Sidenote: Super excited about the new movie coming out next month!!!giphy4
  • Went through 4 different haunted house attractions: Well technically there were two locations and each location had two different themes but I’m counting it as four because that makes me sound hardcore.

    giphy3

    You realize the depths of your friendship with someone when they throw you in the way of a clown with a chainsaw -___-

So yeah! That’s what I’ve been up to, folks!

“WHAT ARE YOU READING?”

“The Forgotten Tale – The Accidental Turn #2” by J. M. Frey

25024494“Forsyth Turn has finally become a hero—however reluctantly. But now that Lucy Piper has married him and they’ve started a family in her world, his adventuring days are behind him. Yet not all is as it should be. Beloved novels are disappearing at an alarming rate, not just from the minds of readers like Pip, but from bookshelves as well. Almost as if they had never been. Almost like magic.

Forsyth fears that it is his fault—that Pip’s childhood tales are vanishing because he, a book character, has escaped his pages. But when he and Pip are sucked back into The Tales of Kintyre Turn against their will, they realize that something much more deadly and dire is happening. The stories are vanishing from Forsyth’s world too. So Forsyth sets out on a desperate journey across Hain to discover how, and why, the stories are disappearing… before their own world vanishes forever.

In this clever follow-up to The Untold Tale, The Forgotten Tale questions what it means to create a legacy, and what we owe to those who come after us.

“Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History” by Sam Maggs and illustrated by Sophia Foster-Dimino

28503941“Ever heard of Allied spy Noor Inayat Khan, a Muslim woman whom the Nazis considered “highly dangerous”? Or German painter and entomologist Maria Sibylla Merian, who planned and embarked on the world’s first scientific expedition? How about Huang Daopo, the inventor who fled an abusive child marriage only to revolutionize textile production in China?

Women have always been able to change the world, even when they didn’t get the credit. In Wonder Women, author Sam Maggs introduces you to pioneering female scientists, engineers, mathematicians, adventurers, and inventors—each profile a study in passion, smarts, and stickto-itiveness, complete with portraits by Google doodler Sophia Foster-Dimino, an extensive bibliography, and a guide to present-day women-centric STEM organizations.”

THE SONG I JUST KEEP REPEATING…

“Soldier” by Fleurie

Well, that’s all for now, folks! Until next time!

This is my own version of the Sunday Post by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. Don’t forget to check out the posts of others there!

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Zo? #9: The World Turned Upside Down

  1. Greg Hill says:

    I’ve never read fan fiction although I’m tempted, but there are so many fandoms I’m afraid I’d fall down the rabbit hole and never get out. lol And congrats on grad school- hope it all goes well. 🙂

    Like

    • zozo93 says:

      Yeah, I want to say you should give it a try but you’re right. Reading fanfiction can turn into a black hole, especially if the fandom you’re looking at is really popular.

      Thanks for your comment! 😀

      Like

  2. karen blue says:

    Wow, I keep hearing about Hamilton, but I haven’t jumped on board yet. Four haunted houses does sound hardcore. I’m honestly surprised you got ANYTHING done with grad school happening for you. I hope you have a great week!

    Like

    • zozo93 says:

      Oops! So sorry! Thought I already commented on this. Hamilton was great! I was initially afraid it wouldn’t live up to the hype but it did. Hope you had a great week! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

