The Weekend Reading List: The Forgotten Tale

The Forgotten Tale (The Accidental Turn #2) by J.M. Frey

25024494

The Stats:

  • Publication Date: December 6, 2016
  • Previous Book: The Untold Tale (Review can be read here)
  • Fiction, fantasy, feminist fantasy, adventure, quests, LGBTQA fiction
  • 3.8/5
  • Same warning as the first book. If you can’t handle some cursing, gender and sexuality themes, and calling out of patriarchal B.S. then you probably shouldn’t read if you can’t handle that.

From Amazon:

“Forsyth Turn has finally become a hero–however reluctantly. But now that Lucy Piper has married him and they’ve started a family in her world, his adventuring days are behind him. Yet not all is as it should be. Beloved novels are disappearing at an alarming rate, not just from the minds of readers like Pip, but from bookshelves as well. Almost as if they had never been. Almost like magic.

Forsyth fears that it is his fault–that Pip’s childhood tales are vanishing because he, a book character, has escaped his pages. But when he and Pip are sucked back into The Tales of Kintyre Turn against their will, they realize that something much more deadly and dire is happening. The stories are vanishing from Forsyth’s world too. So Forsyth sets out on a desperate journey across Hain to discover how, and why, the stories are disappearing… before their own world vanishes forever.

In this clever follow-up to The Untold Tale, The Forgotten Tale questions what it means to create a legacy, and what we owe to those who come after us.”

Zo’s Review:

A year ago, I read The Untold Tale, the first in J.M. Frey’s Accidental Turn series and I really enjoyed and I’m happy that I can say the same a year later with the second installment in the series, The Forgotten Tale. I received an advance copy of the story months ago and even now as I write this review I’m still like, “Oh my gosh! That part was so subtle and excellently woven in!”

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

The Forgotten Tale takes the same dissecting perspective looking at the surprisingly narrowly diverse genre of fantasy writing that it did in the first book. This time a deeper look is taken at different kinds of family and gender roles. What I thought was especially interesting was the importance of the role of women in some fantasy tales as either motherly, the damsel in distress, or the needed sacrifice plot point that spurs the male hero into action. Even the main antagonist’s actions, Solinde the deal maker, were still only for the purpose of a man and not for herself.

Speaking of Solinde, parts of the book is told from her perspective. Admittedly, when I first started reading, I was a bit confused as to what was going on (I thought a few pages were missing from my advanced copy) but gradually I got the gist of it. In some ways it was a nice switch from Forsyth’s perspective and allowed a different view of the fictional world he came from, however, if part of the motive for showing this perspective was to gain sympathy for Solinde it didn’t really work that well for me.

What I liked about The Forgotten Tale is the imperfectness of Forsyth’s and Pip’s relationship despite being married (Forsyth took Pip’s last name) and having a child. A few of their issues could have easily been solved if they had stopped and listened to each other but that’s the point. Forsyth and Pip were thrown into this crazy and unconventional romance in The Untold Tale. By showing both Pip’s and Forsyth’s doubts about their relationship, not only did it add another interesting layer to the story, it made their relationship more real to reader. I mean, currently, right now I’m crushing on Fred Weasley from the Harry Potter series and if he suddenly became real and landed in my lap yes, I would be happy but also, undoubtedly, we would have much to work through (like my bitterness about never receiving a Hogwarts letter). Essentially what I’m saying is, no relationship is perfect and every relationship is always evolving and changing, even after the “I Do’s” and Frey captured that well.

Also, can we clap for stay-at-home dad Forsyth who actually enjoys spending time with his child while his wife goes and be an awesome academic? I mean, it’s one of those things you know exists but is hardly ever seen in media unless it’s being made fun of.

The only bit of frustration I have so far with the series is that the only characters from the Tales of Kintyre Turn who have had any character development/shift that goes against their original writing were men. Am I glad that Forsyth’s brother Kintyre and his partner Bevel finally got their acts together and admitted their feelings for each other? Yes. Am I glad that Forsyth realized that he is more than just the younger brother of Kintyre Turn? Definitely! But aside from Pip, who doesn’t even count since she’s not from the world of the Tales of Kintyre Turn, we don’t see that same character development for any female characters. Now, that in itself could be a commentary on the lack of female character development in adventure tales or also because the narrator for most of the story is Forsyth but I’m really hoping that Frey gives us another female voice to maybe compliment Pip’s, though perhaps in a slightly different way.

Overall, The Forgotten Tale was a great continuation of its predecessor and as with the first, I look forwards to the next installment.

I received a copy of this book from the NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.

What do you all think? Have you read The Forgotten Tale already? Have any other book suggestions that I should add to my Saturday/Weekend Reading List? Leave your thoughts behind in the comments. Just be respectful please.

 

Leave a Reply

