What’s Up Zo? #15: Sunshine

image (4)

PERSONAL UPDATE

Hey folks! It’s been awhile!

First off, for those who read my book reviews, sorry for the delays. I’ve been really bogged down by school work and really haven’t had time to do much other than go to school, see clients, and sleep. Hopefully after the next few weeks I’ll be able to get back on track and not only have more reviews out but actually have reviews on books and not just graphic novels/comics. Just be patient with me and thank you for the patience that you’ve already shown!

20170410_173428Okay, so as you know my birthday was a little over a month ago. As a birthday gift to myself, I got a tattoo! I’ve been thinking about getting a tattoo for the past year or so. However, I was never sure where I wanted to get it. It wasn’t recently that I finally decided that I wanted to get it just below my wrist and it took another few months to get the nerve to actually do it because 1.) it isn’t cheap, 2.) it’s kinda permanent, and 3.) the PAIN!

For some reason though, I had that sort of impulsive moment about a week after my birthday, sent a text to a friend who had been trying to get me to get a tattoo for years now and just a few days later, bang! I was inked! It surprisingly didn’t hurt as much as I thought it would. It kind of felt like a sunburn, which I weirdly found hilarious because the lines make a sun. Overall, I’m really satisfied with it! It has some personal meaning that reminds me of my grandfather and it wasn’t a bad experience at all. I did do a lot of research on tattoo parlors in my area and even got one of those two weeks temporary tattoos to see if I liked the placement of it. Overall, I’m happy with how it turned out and I’m glad that I did it!

Do you have any tattoos? How did it feel the first time you got one? If you’ve never had a tattoo, what’s something that you’ve been thinking about doing for awhile and want to do?

“WHAT ARE YOU READING?”

“Joyride Vol.1” by Jackson Lanzing, Collin Kelly, and illustrated by Marcus To

51wtaoakosl-_sx324_bo1204203200_“Earth sucks. The stars have been blocked out for so long that people have forgotten there was anything else besides the World Government Alliance watching over them. When Uma Akkolyte jacks an alien spaceship and punches through the stratosphere she sets forth on an adventure with an unlikely crew who are totally not ready for all the good, bad, and weird the universe will throw at them. Collects issues #1-4 of the ongoing series. From writers Jackson Lanzing and Collin Kelly (Batman and Robin Eternal, Grayson) and artist Marcus To (Nightwing, New Avengers), Joyride is a rebellious love letter to the sci-fi genre, exploring what happens when nothing stands between a group of teens and their freedom amongst the stars.n“…a satisfying escape. Its confidence, joy, and colorful vision of space all contribute to genuinely fun read.” – Comic Book Resources”

“There Are More Beautiful Things Than Beyonce” by Morgan Parker

51qwaief3cl-_sx321_bo1204203200_“The only thing more beautiful than Beyoncé is God, and God is a black woman sipping rosé and drawing a lavender bath, texting her mom, belly-laughing in the therapist’s office, feeling unloved, being on display, daring to survive. Morgan Parker stands at the intersections of vulnerability and performance, of desire and disgust, of tragedy and excellence. Unrelentingly feminist, tender, ruthless, and sequined, these poems are an altar to the complexities of black American womanhood in an age of non-indictments and deja vu, and a time of wars over bodies and power. These poems celebrate and mourn. They are a chorus chanting: You’re gonna give us the love we need.”

THE SONG I JUST KEEP REPEATING…

“Same Drugs” by Chance the Rapper

Well, that’s all for now, folks! Until next time!

This is my own version of the Sunday Post by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. Don’t forget to check out the posts of others there!

4 thoughts on “What’s Up Zo? #15: Sunshine

    • zozo93 says:

      Yeah, it is slightly nerve wrecking when you realize that this is going to be on your skin for essentially the rest of your life but I think, at least for me, it was helpful to start off with a tattoo that simple in design and maybe not as obvious with its personal meaning but to each their own!

      Thank you for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

