The Weekend Reading List: Joyride Vol. 1

“Joyride Vol. 1” by Jackson Lanzing and Collin Kelly, Illustrated by Marcus To

51wtaoakosl-_sx324_bo1204203200_The Stats:

  • Publication Date: October 4, 2016
  • Graphic novel, science-fiction, young adult, aliens, adventure
  • 3/5
  • WARNINGS: Kind of has a slow start and takes awhile to get invested in some of the characters.
  • Next in the Series: April 26, 2017

From Goodreads:

The stars have been blocked out for so long that people have forgotten there was anything else besides the World Government Alliance watching over them. Uma Akkolyte is a girl who shoots first, leaps before she looks, and is desperate for any means to leave her planet behind. And so she does. When Uma jacks an alien spaceship and punches through the stratosphere she sets forth on an adventure with an unlikely crew who are totally not ready for all the good, bad, and weird the universe will throw at them.
From writers Jackson Lanzing and Collin Kelly (Batman and Robin Eternal, Grayson) and artist Marcus To (Nightwing, New Avengers), Joyride is a rebellious love letter to the sci-fi genre, exploring what happens when nothing stands between a group of teens and their freedom amongst the stars.

Zo’s Reviews:

Give me adventures in space. Give me a female lead. Give me rebelling against “The Man”. That’s usually all that I need. Joyride made me want more though…and not in a good way.

Let’s, as always, start with the positive. Joyride Vol. 1 sets up what will hopefully be a really interesting space adventure. The color and artwork are amazing and so beautiful. I love the designs of the characters. Plus, the plot in itself seems interesting. Not only are the three main characters – Uma, Dewydd, and Catrin – having crazy adventures in space, they each have their own reasons why they want to get away from Earth, from family issues to dystopian future related stuff, and each have aspects of themselves that the others could probably learn from. All in all, Joyride Vol. 1 has all the components for a pretty epic adventure story.

 

And that leads us to the not so great part of this review.

I want to first say that the issues I’m bringing up with this first volume in themselves are not necessarily issues that would stop me from reading the next volume or recommending this series to others. However, this is a review and these are my initial responses. First off, I thought the plot was either a bit slow in some parts and unbelievably quick or resolved to quickly in others. I think the slow parts are understandable, especially in a first volume, there is a lot of world building and character introductions that need to be done to set the stage. Other parts, though, seemed to have been really rushed and either it felt like I missed something or the climax after a bunch of build up felt very anti-climatic.

Also, Uma was a hard pill to swallow. I don’t know why. Like I said before, this is the first volume and probably only a drop of her past has been given so there’s probably reason why she acts the way she does but my initial impression of her was that she was kind of selfish and only really looking out for herself. Which this, in my opinion, isn’t necessarily a bad thing if that’s what the creators were going for – to a certain extent, unlikable characters are sometimes the most realistic – but it made me really unsympathetic towards her when part of her backstory was revealed. I also really don’t understand the friendship between she and Dewydd and to a certain extent, I think she’s very manipulative and I wouldn’t trust her too much if I was on their spaceship. Nonetheless, I’m hoping that Uma becomes more bearable once we get to know more about her and her past, along with the other characters of the series.

 

Overall, Joyride Vol. 1 has all the ingredients of an awesome space adventure which hopefully will be mixed together in later volumes.

I received a copy of this book from the NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.

What do you all think? Have you read Joyride Vol.1 already? Have any other book suggestions that I should add to my Weekend Reading List? Leave your thoughts behind in the comments. Just be respectful please.

 

 

Leave a Reply

