What’s Up Zo? #16: Canada, Eh?

image (5)

PERSONAL UPDATE

Sorry, I couldn’t stop myself with that title.

School is over for the summer. I’m taking the summer to prepare for research that I’m going to do for the coming school year as well as study for the GRE since I’ve decided to add another 3 years of debt – oh and I guess schooling – to get my doctorate’s degree. I’ve come this far. Might as well go all the way.

I have found some time to have fun though. I was able to go to Canada – Niagara Falls and Toronto specifically – for a mini vacation with my mom!

On this first day of summer, I got to visit Niagara Falls! #niagarafalls #canada #vacation #firstdayofsummer

A post shared by Sit and Be Still (@sitandbestill) on

It was my first time in Canada – not including the two layovers I had there once. We only spent a day at the Falls but we were in Toronto for two full days. We visited some of the usual tourist places like Casa Loma, the Art Gallery of Ontario, the Distillery District, and the Toronto Eaton Centre.

It's been great Toronto, but now It's time to go home. #toronto #canada #nathanphillipssquare #ivivi

A post shared by Sit and Be Still (@sitandbestill) on

It was a nice break from the usual and it was pretty fun despite the fact that it was literally planned last minute which is always anxiety provoking for me.

I’ve also spent the last few days moving out of my apartment which after getting my bed out wasn’t as much of a struggle as I initially thought it would be. Since that’s done, I’m hoping to get started on GRE studying as well as preparing for my first 5K I will be running in September. Anyone have any tips or running shoe suggestions for a complete newbie?

Also, for those of you who read my book reviews, I’m getting back on track with those and will hopefully try to get ahead so that I’ll be a few weeks ahead and updates will return to normal. Thank you all for your patience! The first few will be graphic novels/comics but I have some great books that I’m trying to get through that if you haven’t heard of them or read them yet, I think you’ll really enjoy!

 

 

 

But enough about me! How are you all doing? Any fun summer plans?

“WHAT ARE YOU READING?”

“Shade the Changing Girl Vol. 1” by Cecil Castellucci, Illustrated by Marley Zarcone

51w52bzn1gdl-_sx322_bo1204203200_“From writer Cecil Castellucci and artist Marley Zarcone, SHADE, THE CHANGING GIRL VOL. 1: EARTH GIRL MADE EASY—a bold new reimagining of one of comics’ maddest and most memorable characters and part of the DC’s Young Animal imprint led by rock-star Gerard Way.

Loma Shade may be from another planet, but she’s still like every other twentysomething who feels that their life is going nowhere fast. Bored out of her mind, her solution is to drop out of school, dump her boyfriend and leave her homeworld of Meta behind—courtesy of the infamous “madness coat” of renegade poet Rac Shade, which is not so much a garment as it is a multidimensional gateway.

After stealing the coat and astrally projecting herself across space, Loma ends up in the body of Megan Boyer, an Earth girl who seems to have it all: youth, beauty and a conveniently damaged brain. Following her “miraculous” recovery, however, Loma finds there’s just one problem with being Megan: Everyone hates her. She was a bully who terrorized her enemies and her friends alike, and now Loma’s stuck with the consequences.

To make matters worse, back on Meta there are dark forces that want Rac’s dangerously valuable coat for their own nefarious purposes, and they’re closing in on Loma’s vulnerable physical body. At the same time, the primal madness that the coat channels is slowly, irresistibly eroding Loma’s equally vulnerable soul.

With two new lives to live, can this Changing Girl survive either one without losing her mind?”

THE SONG I JUST KEEP REPEATING…

“The Hamilton Mixtape: Immigrants (We Get The Job Done)”  by K’naan featuring Residente, Riz MC & Snow Tha Product

Well, that’s all for now, folks! Until next time!

This is my own version of the Sunday Post by Caffeinated Book Reviewer.The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog. Don’t forget to check out the posts of others there!

2 thoughts on “What’s Up Zo? #16: Canada, Eh?

Leave a Reply

