The Weekend Reading List: Mystery at Maplemead Castle (The Chapelwick Mysteries #2)

“Mystery at Maplemead Castle (The Chapelwick Mysteries #2) by Kitty French

 

The Stats:51mq-xanjal-_sy346_

  • Publication Date: March 17, 1017
  • Mystery, paranormal, ghosts, funny, “I ain’t afraid of no ghost”
  • 4/5
  • WARNINGS: Strong language, mild adult content, definitely a guilty pleasure read, and many pop culture references
  • Next in the Series: TBA

From Goodreads:

“Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate pecan cookies come with a helping of sabotage.

Maplemead Castle is crawling with ghosts, and the new owners need them gone. When Melody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency arrive on scene, they quickly identify the troublemakers swinging from the chandeliers… literally.

A century ago, stunning trapeze artist Britannia Lovell plunged to her death, and has done every night since. But did she really just fall, or was there something more to her demise?

Forced to work with Leo Dark, her scoundrel ex, and infuriating, irresistible reporter Fletcher Gunn, Melody’s investigative powers are under strain (i.e. lost in a pink mist of lust and confusion). She needs her team on top form, but best friend Marina’s cake pipeline goes AWOL, assistant Artie’s distracted by a giant sausage roll, and the pug is scared witless by a lion.

Somewhere, hidden in the castle, is a heart-breaking secret, but what will it take to find it? And is there a chance it could set Britannia free, or is she doomed to repeat her last fateful act forever?”

Zo’s Review:

 

You know those books where you feel like you’re meeting up with an old friend? Well, I just met up with “ghostbuster” Melody Bittersweet for another quirky, funny, and mysterious adventure.

Okay, where to start? Where to start?

In the second book of The Chapelwick Mysteries, we meet up with Melody and the gang just a little after their last ghost adventure. As I said in my last review on the first book, the characters in this story really makes a pretty simple plot so colorful. Artie is still the adorkable assistant and I really love how the reader can see that he really is coming out of his shell, even without the narrator, Melody, reminding us of that. Marina is still the best friend that anyone would be lucky to have though I will admit that it was kind of disappointing that Artie got to have a small side plot while Marina continued to stay Melody’s one woman army. However, I think French has put down the seeds to look at Marina’s own personal life maybe in future books, especially since we know that one of her family members is in need of someone to look after them due to health reasons. I mean, I know that Marina and Melody are BFFs but it would be cool to see Melody seriously looking after and taking care of Marina in her time of need.

I also can’t forget Leo and Fletch, Melody’s ex and current love interest, respectively. Both men, respectively, seemed to have gotten a slight layer of depth added on to them as well. I won’t go into the details of it because there would definitely be spoilers. However, I will say that I was able to still dislike Leo but also feel sorry for him and we also got a bit into Fletch’s backstory as well. The parts between Fletch and Melody are pretty hot but nothing too risqué. Though Melody and Fletch undoubtedly have chemistry, I do hope that they get to know each other a bit better. Either way, I’m definitely still #TeamFletch. (Sorry, not sorry Leo.)

Though I liked Mystery at Maplemead Castle as a guilty pleasure read, there were definitely a few parts where I wanted to jump into the story and snap my fingers in front of Melody’s face to get her to focus. I understand that it’s a first person narrative and usually the best attempts at this require some insight into the person’s mind – tangents, drifting thoughts, and all – but there were definitely a few times that I felt Melody’s random thoughts went on a little too long and didn’t really contribute that much to the story or the reader’s understanding of her. There were definitely a few parts that I skimmed over because I just really wanted to get back to the plot. It was a bit distracting but not to the point where it put me off from finishing the book.

Overall, I really like this second book in The Chapelwick Series. The characters aren’t overly complex but still very enjoyable and once I finished, I immediately wished the third book was ready. I can’t wait to see what new adventures await Melody and her friends.

I received a copy of this book from the NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.

What do you all think? Have you read Mystery at Maplemead Castle already? Have any other book suggestions that I should add to my Weekend Reading List? Leave your thoughts behind in the comments. Just be respectful please.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

