The Weekend Reading List: A Dragon of a Different Color (Heartstrikers #4)

“A Dragon of a Different Color” by Rachel Aaron

51bgnxvwcfl-_sy346_

 

The Stats:

  • Publication Date: July 28, 2017
  • Previous Book: No Good Dragon Goes Unpunished (Heartstrikers #3)
  • Fiction, fantasy, science-fiction, drama, supernatural, dragons, ghosts, spirits, mages
  • 3.8/5
  • Warnings: No real warnings for this one other than the obvious you’d have to read the first three books. Also, only currently available as an ebook but a paperback addition will probably be soon released.

From Goodreads:

To save his family from his tyrannical mother, Julius had to step on a lot of tails. That doesn’t win a Nice Dragon many friends, but just when he thinks he’s starting to make progress, a new threat arrives.

Turns out, things can get worse. Heartstriker hasn’t begun to pay for its secrets, and the dragons of China are here to collect. When the Golden Emperor demands his surrender, Julius will have to choose between loyalty to the sister who’s always watched over him and preserving the clan he gave everything to protect.

Zo’s Review:

(If you haven’t already, check out my review for the first two books and the third book.)

Rachel Aaron is back with the fourth addition to her Heratstrikers series! 

Most, if not all of our favorites from the last three books make an appearance (some sadly not as long as others) and we essentially find ourselves right where we left off with Julius now one third of his family’s clan council, many people close to him now gone in some fashion, his manipulative mother thinking of plans to get rid of him (what’s new?), and of course, multiple threats to the fragile peace that Julius has already sacrificed so much to achieve.

As always, the characters in this series are my favorite and really sell the plot. I think I mentioned before that the two main characters Julius “the Nice Dragon” Heartstriker and Marci his human mage friend and partner were not necessarily my favorites but this book definitely added some depth to their characters, especially Julius. At the beginning of the book, I think we got a bit more of a raw, tired, and heartbroken Julius that personally made him seem more relatable than in the previous books. Marci, by herself, still isn’t my favorite character but I lived for the interactions between her and her Mortal Spirit, Ghost, and the many other reunions she has throughout the book.

Other familiar characters that I was happy to see again were Bob, Frederik, and Chelsea. In this book we get a bit more back story on Chelsea and also Frederik (which looking back at the notes that I made for myself from the previous book I totally called!). Looking back at where Julius started in the first book, when he was literally the runt of his family, it’s so amazing that he now has some semblance of supportive family members and the interactions between Julius, Chelsea, and Frederick were both everything I wanted from them and more but also heartbreaking. (All of these angsty dragons need hugs! #HugADargon2017) We also get a few more new characters in this book who are also interesting in their own right and apparently may play big roles in Bob’s mysterious seer plans.

As always, I have to give Aaron some praise for her world building and dedication to making the magic in her story seem like it could be an actually science and not just some magic wand waving. I will admit that after awhile I started skipping over some sections when it got really overloaded with magic theory jargon for pages. However, you could definitely tell that real thought was put into it. I also love Aaron’s attention to details. There are a few little tongue and cheek moments from Aaron in the book. Nothing that necessarily affects the plot or the reader’s understanding of the story but little moments that made me giggle when I found them.

As mentioned before, there were a few parts where I felt the plot was being weighed down by magic theory jargon, which I feel sometimes slowed down the plot momentum, but I really couldn’t put the book down. I think the next book might be the last in the series and if so, I definitely believe it’s going to be a heck of an ender! If you love magic and dragons mixed in with some urban science-fiction, the Heartstrikers series especially A Dragon of a Different Color is definitely for you.

As always, I can’t wait for the next installment!

20490874

What do you guys think? Have you read the latest book in the Heartstrikers series, A Dragon of a Different Color, already? Have any other book suggestions that I should add to my The Weekend Reading List ? Leave your thoughts behind in the comments. Just be respectful please.

 

 

Leave a Reply

