What’s Up Zo? #17: 100 Followers and Counting!

image (7)

PERSONAL UPDATE

Today I realized I had 100 followers on this blog so…THANK YOU!!!

To all of my 100 followers, I just wanted to say thank you! For all the comments, likes, and views. For those who have been around from the beginning to the newest of new.

Thank you for following this blog through all of its changes and I hope you can all continue to follow me.

Much love! Seriously.

tenor

“WHAT ARE YOU READING?”

“You Can’t Touch My Hair: And Other Things I Still Have to Explain” by Phoebe Robinson

A hilarious and timely essay collection about race, gender, and pop culture from upcoming comedy superstar and 2 Dope Queens podcaster Phoebe Robinson

Being a black woman in America means contending with old prejudices and fresh absurdities every day. Comedian Phoebe Robinson has experienced her fair share over the years: she’s been unceremoniously relegated to the role of “the black friend,” as if she is somehow the authority on all things racial; she’s been questioned about her love of U2 and Billy Joel (“isn’t that . . . white people music?”); she’s been called “uppity” for having an opinion in the workplace; she’s been followed around stores by security guards; and yes, people do ask her whether they can touch her hair all. the. time. Now, she’s ready to take these topics to the page—and she’s going to make you laugh as she’s doing it.

Using her trademark wit alongside pop-culture references galore, Robinson explores everything from why Lisa Bonet is “Queen. Bae. Jesus,” to breaking down the terrible nature of casting calls, to giving her less-than-traditional advice to the future female president, and demanding that the NFL clean up its act, all told in the same conversational voice that launched her podcast, 2 Dope Queens, to the top spot on iTunes. As personal as it is political, You Can’t Touch My Hair examines our cultural climate and skewers our biases with humor and heart, announcing Robinson as a writer on the rise.”

A PODCAST YOU NEED TO LISTEN TO

kalw_stooplogo_masterThe Stoop podcast is a new podcast on black identity. What I appreciate is that it’s a podcast that recognizes that black identity has many facets that should be recognized. The first episode of The Stoop starts with the question: Can African Americans appropriate African clothing? As an African American, it was an interesting question to think about as part of the African diaspora.

Though The Stoop is still in its beginning stages but I really look forward to seeing where co-hosts Hana Baba and Leila Day take future episodes that explore the vast diversity of black identity.

THE SONG I JUST KEEP REPEATING…

“Leave Out All The Rest” by Linkin Park

When my time comes
Forget the wrong that I’ve done
Help me leave behind some
Reasons to be missed
Don’t resent me
And when you’re feeling empty
Keep me in your memory
Leave out all the rest
Leave out all the rest

Rest in peace Chester Bennington. My prayers are with your family, friends, and bandmates. You helped give a generation of hurt, abused, misunderstood, and ignored souls, myself included, a voice…

Call 1-800-273-TALK (8255) at any time for help if you or a friend is struggling with suicide.

Until next time.

This is my own version of the Sunday Post by Caffeinated Book Reviewer.The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog. Don’t forget to check out the posts of others there!

 

 

3 thoughts on “What’s Up Zo? #17: 100 Followers and Counting!

  1. Jorie says:

    Hallo, Hallo Zori!

    🙂 We are sharing something in common today! I was visiting blogs & leaving commentary when I came back to my own #JLASblog – guess what!? I’ve broached 100 followers, too! And, here I was just celebrating crossing into 2,000 comments today! I created a Twitter badge to celebrate the milestone – as like you, I cherish everyone who drops by my blog, spends time reading my posts and/or leaves me a comment! How lovely we both reached 100 followers! I recently lost several followers – as their blogs were inactive or deleted, so to see a resurge in growth so soon was heart-warming! I know you must feel a lot of joy yourself seeing so many lovely people engaging with your blog!

    Oh, my! I haven’t run into those stigmas in such a long while – reading your comments on the book your currently reading? or maybe that’s the synopsis? Hmm. I ran into those issues when I was still in school (how did 22 years just magically float past?) — I remember those convos with my classmates. I never understood why people want to put everyone into a ‘box’ – where your supposed to like ‘this or that’ but you cannot like something ‘else’ too? Never understood it. We all love a kaleidoscope of what brings joy into our lives across mediums of interest. We all inspire each other at some point and if something moves us and gives us joy, how is that wrong?

    I can relate to the ‘store security’ issues – I look younger than my years, and I still have this issue! It’s not like all teenagers are thieves but you run into bias everywhere – plus, I think I need to read this book just based on your thoughts because I think I’d love reading it! I never heard of it previously, so thank you! I love finding new authors & stories!

    Thanks for the podcast s/o – I’m just starting to find podcasts I enjoy finding – one is a hilarious duo of booklovers via @AudioShelfMe and the other is a wicked awesomesauce interviewer of authors @88CupsOfTea! My first interview I listened to was Jacqueline Woodson! Best interview!! I need to get back into this podcast – she has a huge list of people she’s interviewed I want to get through! 🙂 I don’t think 88 Cups is limited to authors either – she loves conversing with creatives!

    Another wicked good song by Linkin Park! Thanks for sharing! It has such a powerful message behind it and one that is always worth sharing!

    I’ve enjoyed visiting with you today – I hope you’ll find my Sunday Post equally enjoyable if you drop by for a visit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • zozo93 says:

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment! Congrats as well on reaching 100 followers.

      The book synopsis isn’t mine. I have a figurative pile of books (since eBooks are usually cheaper) that I need to sort through and write reviews for, this one included. The author of this book has two different podcasts that she hosts, “Two Dope Queens” with Jessica Williams and also “Sooooo Many White Guys” that are both really great and focuses on some pretty cool people. I haven’t heard of “Audio Shelf Me” and “88 Cups of Tea”. I’ll have to check them out.

      Anyway, thanks again for commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jorie says:

        Hallo, Hallo again!

        I wanted to clarify one thing – it’s simply ‘Audio Shelf’ but they put the ‘me’ on their Twitter handle – but you can find them @ audioshelf.me – even though they go by #AudioShelf. I should have mentioned the quirkiness of their name! I’m going to check out the podcasts you’ve mentioned – and yes, I know, I realised this after I posted my comment you were using the synopsis – as I first read it as a conversational ‘takeaway’ about the book and then realised, ooh wait! She’s sharing the blurb! Ooh my. Sorry I missed that initially!

        Ohh! I understand now — I have chronic migraines, so it’s only print or audio books for me! I do know since ebooks are a bit easier to collect, it’s doubly easy to get behind! Although, since I have a backlogue of reviews myself – I totally get it!

        You’re welcome – I enjoyed visiting with you!

        Like

Leave a comment